Defining Which Users Can Add Videos to a Channel

Defining Which Users Can Add Videos to a Channel

By default, the only user who can add videos to a channel is the user that owns the channel. Also, the only videos that can go on that channel are videos that are either owned by the owner of the channel or that are marked as sharable in the media settings template assigned to that video. (See Adding Videos Owned by Other Users to a Channel for more details.) There are, however, two ways to allow multiple users to be able to add or remove videos from a channel. The two options are as follows:
  1. Create a DEVOS Security Group and assign all of the users either individually or based on what Active Directory group they are a member of and assign that group to the channel.
  2. Create a Team Share account and add all users you want to have full owner-level access to the channel and set the ownership of the channel to the Team Share instead of an individual user.
The first option will only allow the users in the group to add or remove content from the channel. It will not give those users access to the settings of the channel. The second option makes any users that are members of the Team Share account co-owners of the channel. This means those users can edit or delete the channel as one of the co-owners of the channel.

Assign a DEVOS Security Group

This method will use a DEVOS security group as a "Channel Management" group to allow any user to add or remove content from the channel. To do this, go to Groups under Security in the Admin Portal.


Next, click Add New Group to open the new group form.
Add new group

Next, either search and find individual users and add them to the selected users box to add them to the group, or select an Active Directory group and add it to the group so that any user that is a member of an Active Directory group will automatically be a member of this DEVOS security group.
Add members to a group
Click Save and then go to Manage Channels in the Admin Portal. If you are in the flat view where you only see your own channels, click on the arrow in the top right corner of the channel's icon and select Settings.
Channel settings

If you are in the Tree View with all the system channels, click on a channel with your RIGHT mouse button and select Settings.
Channel settings

In the second group selection under Add/Remove Groups, select the group whose members you want to be able to add or remove videos from this channel and move it with the arrows over to the selected groups list.
Add remove groups 
Click Save. Now, all the members of the selected group(s) will be able to add or remove videos from this channel.

Create a Team Share to Own the Channel

In order to use this option, your DEVOS account must either have access to the Super Portal or have the Manage Team Share privilege in your account.  Depending on whether Super Portal access is available or the Team Share privilege is assigned, there are two types of Team Shares that can be created in two different ways in DEVOS. The two types are as follows:
  1. A system-wide team share created by user with Super Portal access in the Super Portal.
  2. An individually-owned team share created in a user's account with Manage Team Share privilege from the Manage Groups link under Security. 
To create a team share from the Super Portal, click on Users under Super Portal and then click on Manage Team Share. The teams listed here can be edited or deleted by any user that has Super Portal access.
To create a team share from the Manage Groups page under Security, click on Manage Groups and then click on Manage Team Share. Any teams listed here will only be accessible to you as the owner as well as any other users with Super Portal privileges.
From the Manage Team Share page, click on Add New Team.
Add new team

Search for and add individual users to the group and/or assign an Active Directory group or a DEVOS security group to the team so that all the users who are members of either the Active Directory group 
or the DEVOS security group will automatically be a member of the team. The team can be made up of any combination of the three.
Now, any member of that team can go to the Manage Channels page and create a channel to be owned by the team. To do so, go to Manage Channels and select the team from the drop down menu at the top right of the channels page.
Show team channels

Next, click Add New Channel to the team.
Add new channel to the team

The channel that is created will now be co-owned by the team, and any member of the team can edit or delete the channel as well as add or remove content from the team.
    • Related Articles

    • Adding Videos Owned by Other Users to a Channel

      All assets in DEVOS belong to a specific user account or team share account. This includes videos, images, documents, channels, digital signage, learning paths, group settings, and any other assets added to the system. Because of this, the only ...